Teachers, if you want my respect, you’ve got to respect me too

There are several disrespectful teachers in my school who do not deserve any respect from us students.

There are those who disrespect our work by ripping it apart because ‘it wasn’t well done’, there are those who disrespect our privacy by literally pouring out the contents of our school bag onto the floor, those who disrespect and disregard our opinions, there are even those who throw things at us…
And then there are the teachers who disrespect us in ALL ways, treating us like little slaves, making us clean up after them and whatnot.
These disrespectful teachers are usually the ones who demand utmost respect from their students because they have ‘authority’.

 

Newsflash, teachers! If you expect us students to respect you, you have to respect us too. Sure, teachers have seniority and authority, but respect is a two-way thing – you respect me and I’ll respect you. I respect you, and therefore you should respect me.

3 thoughts on “Teachers, if you want my respect, you’ve got to respect me too

  1. Respect has to be earned. If it is demanded then perhaps the person doesn’t deserve it in the first place.

  2. Respect has to be earned. If it is demanded then perhaps the person doesn’t deserve it in the first place.

  3. It may sound slightly extreme but what I would do is simply refuse. Giving in to authority but not rationale is weakness.

Comment

