Hyperbole and a Half: Advertures in Depression

Adapting a few passges and pictures from Hyperbole and a Half: Adventures in Depression… (because I can seriously relate)

It’s disappointing to feel sad for no reason. Sadness can be almost pleasantly indulgent when you have a way to justify it – you can listen to sad music and imagine yourself as the protagonist in a dramatic movie.

But my sadness didn’t have a purpose. Essentially, I was being robbed of my right to feel self pity, which is the only redeeming part of sadness.
And for a little bit, that was a good enough reason to pity myself.

I tried to force myself to not be sad.

When I couldn’t will myself to not be sad, I became frustrated and angry.

 

But, since I was depressed, this tactic was less inspirational and more just a way to oppress myself with hatred.

Which made me more sad. 

Comment

