genetic engineering and designer babies

Refer: Birth of 30 Genetically Modified Babies

So the time is here. 

The time that the dream of scientists everywhere is starting to come true – mankind is able to play God yet again, and this time to make designer babies. 

I am entirely against the idea of creating babies in test tubes and altering their genes to create the Perfect Baby, appearance and intelligence cutstomized to his/her parents’ preference – kind of like creating a Sims character.

I always say that just because someone’s lifestyle and opinions differ from mine doesn’t mean that they’re sick or wrong. But in this case, I think that modifying genes to create a designer baby isn’t the least bit ethical. 

I think that the power to literally create people from scratch is simply too much for mankind to handle. Imagine if that power got into the wrong hands – people would be able to make their own troops, servants, baseball team, whatever – what would the world come to? 

And when people are able to make their own Perfect Baby, what happens to those who are naturally conceived? Who would want them when they aren’t “perfect”? 

=====
This is an overdue post I wrote 26 January 2013. 

4 thoughts on “genetic engineering and designer babies

  1. Could I please draw a parallel between this and practices that are already standard in the world of animal breeding? I know my analogy is flawed but the closest example I could think of would be dog breeding. If you think that people would only want something something “perfect” then why would people choose to adopt mongrels then when they could buy specific breeds?

    Another point I’d want to bring up is let’s say two parents have an underlying genetic trait that predisposes them to cancer, and they know that if they have a child naturally the child is going to have an even higher chance of getting cancer during his/her lifetime. Would it then be more or less ethically responsible to tinker with their DNA to ensure that they have both parent’s best traits while avoiding what would be bad for them?

  2. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  3. Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding blog and brilliant design.

  4. Admiring the dedication you put into your website and in depth information you provide. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Comment

