review of the month: terraria

Terraria is a land of adventure! A land of mystery! A land that’s yours to shape, to defend and to enjoy. ImageYour options in Terraria are limitless. Are you an action gamer with an itchy trigger finger? A master builder? A collector? An explorer? There’s something for everyone here.

-http://terraria.gamepedia.com/Terraria_Wiki

Those who have been hanging around me recently would have seen this post coming, considering the fact that I have spent majority of my time playing Terraria, and when I’m not playing Terraria, I’m talking about my achievements on Terraria, beaming like a child who topped her class for the first time (e.g. “I defeated Skeletron!”, “I built circuits!”, “I found the goblin!”)

Often compared to Minecraft, I find Terraria to be a lot more interesting and captivating than Minecraft. But I’m not here to insult Minecraft, so I shall keep some comments to myself :p
First of all, I personally dislike first-person games because: 1 – I have terrible depth perception in 3-D games. 2 – They make me queasy after awhile, and 3 – I prefer the simplicity of 2-D games, such as the earlier versions of Pokemon and Harvest Moon.
Secondly, Terraria has a lot of good music tracks that represent your time and location. For example, there is a music track that plays in the day, and different one in the night.
Thirdly, the fun you can have in Terraria is limitless – you wanna mine, you mine; you wanna go to hell, you go to hell (literally); you wanna fight monsters, fight; you wanna build, build, you wanna go online, go online… The list goes on and on.

Another thing I love about Terraria is how I can bring one character from world to world, and with it my items and money. I screwed up the first world that I played because I let the Corruption take over too much of the land. So what did I do? Start a new world. Your characters can alternate between worlds seamlessly, even if it is a world set up by someone else on a different server altogether.

Everyone should at least try Terraria, no matter how old you are and no matter how much of a “gamer” you are. It is worth the small amount of money to buy it off of Steam.

Image

 

 

Comment

